The Anacortes Schools Foundation awarded 40 scholarship totalling over $52,000 to graduates of Anacortes High School.  Scholarships ranged from $500 - $10,000  for students planning to attend technical, 2-year community college, and 4-year college and university programs.  Two $10,000 Okerlund Family Trust Scholarships were presented to Class of 2009 grads Emily Fakkema, who will attend George Fox University, and Stuart Cheyne, who plans to attend Dalhousie University.

Some of these scholarships are made possible by donations from local businesses, such as the Shell Community Scholarship and the Tesoro Community Scholarship. Families have also established scholarship funds in honor or memory of loved ones, such as the Nathan Estvold Memorial Scholarship, for a student demonstrating good citizenship, and the Okerlund Family Trust Scholarship in memory of Emmett Okerlund, AHS Class of 1931.

Congratulations to the 2009 Scholarship Winners. As always, the choices were especially difficult with so many exceptional students. Thanks to all who applied.

2009-scholarship-winnersSara Brennan
Dillion Bundy
Stuart Cheyne
Jocelyn Clark
Paige Conway
Maddy Crowe
Alice Darnton
Marisa Elsner
Emily Fakkema
Kelsey Glein
Leah Helberg
Clara Hill
Briana Hobbs
Ana Hobson
Chris Hyde
Sarah Idzcak
Ashli Kemp
Deborah Kenote
Evan Knoch
Matt Knorr
Katie McNeil
Kristy Nelson
Emilia Nilsson
Reanna Norton
Ashley Post
Lauren Richards
Diba Samadani
Michael Stark
Rachel Stewart
Kymberly Stone
Juan Verdin
John Walker
Hannah Warren
Sarah Moses-Winyard
Tarek Zaheer