2016 scholarship recipients

It was a fun night for more than five-dozen scholarship winners, and their parents, at the Anacortes Schools Foundation’s 2016 Scholarships Ceremony. Sixty-two scholarships worth nearly $100,000 were handed out in the two-hour-plus ceremony at Brodniak Hall on June 1. 

These scholarships were handed out:

Frances M. Hyland Scholarship, Danielle Long; Lynn Dragovich Memorial Scholarship, Tim Graffuis; Harold H. “Bud” Turner Scholarship, Audrey Stultz; Richard Bliss White Scholarship, Olivia White; Hsu Family Scholarship, Jonathan Chen; Larkworthy Engineering Scholarship, Connor Wilson; Zielinski Horticulture/Crop Science Scholarship, Tyler Baker; Connor Wollam Memorial Scholarship, Pearle Peterson; Floyd Willette Scholarship, Brooklyn Singleton; Tesoro Community Scholarship (5), Victoria Omstead, Claire Severin, Graydon Millard, Cindy Bernal, Cody Frost; Bill & Dororthy “Ho” Taylor Scholarship, Shianne Honeycutt; Shell Puget Sound Refinery Community Scholarship (4), Emily Mathis, Emily Bright, Robert Verdoes, Sam Riccardi; Fidalgo Island Rotary/Connie Kelley Scholarship (3), Lori Kay Johnson, Zachary Bowman, Kian Patrick; Island Hospital Scholarship in Memory of S.A. “John” Carabba (2), Zachary Bowman, Renee Smith; Friends of the Anacortes Community Forestlands Scholarship (3), Sam Riccardi, Andrew Luna, Zachary Bowman; Trident Seafoods Scholarship, Bryce Randall; Joe Fox Award, Nathaniel Jenkins; Nathan Estvold Memorial Scholarship, Nicole Bunzel; Anacortes Sister Cities Association Scholarship (2), Katheryn Hudak, Maria Dale; Brar Science Scholarship, Hannah Kaleel; Mildred Arndt Memorial Art Scholarship (3), Jacob Carver, Henry Holtgeerts, Caitlin Jensen; Okerlund Family Trust Scholarship (2), Julia Houpermans, Alexandra Hanesworth; Deskin Scholarship (6), Katherine Baker, Blake Clawson, Avery Postera, Elliott Hofferth, David Rodriguez, Lauren Doster; Lytton Scholarship, Hannah Sandbert; Arnold & Cressa Houle Memorial Scholarship, Brooke Geffe; Kirvin Smith Memorial Scholarship, Johnny Fischer; Jim Rice Memorial Scholarship, Daniel Hayes; Jack & Vi Frisk Scholarship, Ruby Lopez; KaNDe Scholarship, Carly Bates; Icicle Seafoods Scholarship, Mackenzie Courtney; Dr. Malcolm Snyder Memorial Scholarship (2), Angela Kline, Kai Perschbacher; Rosa Walrath Memorial Librarian Scholarship, Diana Farnsworth; Philip L. Roberts Memorial Scholarship, Tristan Lewis; Anacortes High School PTSA Scholarship (2), Blancaflor Sanchez, Elijah Zachry; Jack L. Symonds Memorial Scholarship, Brittany Asseln; Wally & Suoma Eckberg Scholarship, Bryce Randall; Anacortes Rotary Scholarship, Kian Patrick; Anacortes Schools Foundation Scholarship (2), Milan Kassa, Kristen Bielman.

The Anacortes Schools Foundation is a 501(c)(3) educational non-profit organization whose mission is to foster excellence in education by supporting our local schools. The Foundation is governed by a 21-member volunteer board which that represents a cross-section of our community.

The Foundation manages scholarship endowments totaling more than $2.6 million. The Foundation also funds school STEM enrichment programs, provides scholarships for preschoolers who need tuition help, and has fulfilled teacher grant requests. 

The Foundation raises funds from an all-ages “Fueling Education Fun Run,” sponsored by the Shell Puget Sound Refinery, this year scheduled for Oct. 2. The Foundation supports STEM programs with the “Celebrate the Season” holiday event each December. The first Fun Run, last year, raised $36,000. Last year’s holiday event raised $55,000. 

More information about the Anacortes Schools Foundation can be found at anacortesschoolsfoundation.org.